Do you pray for your future husband/wife? I do. I think what Ruth says in this article is true, we should be asking God to guide us in all aspects of our lives. For me, that includes praying for “prospective him” because it helps me feel connected to this man I haven’t met yet. I also pray through all the frustration and longing I experience because it helps me let it go into God’s hands. So, I actually pray a lot about my dating life, basically because it gives me peace. How about you? What’s your take?

I Kissed My Date Goodnight

It’s time for a little brutal honesty from this raised-in-the-church pastor’s daughter: I don’t pray too much about my dating life. Okay, okay. Pick your jaw up off the floor and stay with me here. As Ricky Ricardo often said, I’ve “got some ‘splainin’ to do.” Fair enough.

If a man asks me out on a date, I don’t pray about whether or not we should grab dinner. If someone shows interest in me, I don’t flip open the Bible to see if he meets the criteria of a biblical husband. And if I like a guy, it’s probably not because I heard God say, “Like that guy.” Actually, that has never been the case.

Don’t get me wrong: I pray every day. I try to pray even when I’m not “officially” praying — even when my head isn’t bowed, when my eyes aren’t closed, when I’m not in church…

View original post 932 more words

I'd love to hear from you.

