I don’t really have anything to add because this post literally could have been pulled from one of my journal entries. I identify so much with what Ruth has written here and I think you will too.

I Kissed My Date Goodnight

Dear Future Husband,

Sorry I haven’t written in a while. Seventeen years is a long time to go without any communication. Clearly I have some relationship skills that I can work on. Wow, is this our first official fight?

A lot has changed since my last letter. I was about 15 years old then, full of potential and hope and fearless curiosity. I wrote to you in my diary, signed my last name with a smiley face over it, and spent a great deal of my time talking about puppies. I wanted to get married because I wanted to be like everyone else, like my big sister who was engaged at the time. And I wanted to kiss a boy. And I wanted a baby of my own named Pamela after my favorite childhood doll (who talked when you inserted a magic cartridge in her back!).

Now I’m 32, full…

View original post 771 more words

One thought on “

  1. Pingback: Letter To The Husband Of My Best friend | keeping up with drama

I'd love to hear from you.

