What is burnout?

“Take the time to be fed so that you can effectively feed others.” For those of us involved in any sort of ministry, we can all identify with the concept of “burnout”. It’s especially true when we’re in a situation where there isn’t a good support system or we’re working in an organization that isn’t very organized.

For me, burnout is also strongly related to time and the investment of time. Because my ministry is through Sunday School and Youth Group as a volunteer, I have to make sure that I take the time to rest and refill regardless of my work, school, and social commitments. Otherwise, I’m not really doing justice to the calling God has given me. Take a look at the wisdom of this post to read more.

Youth Ministry Incognito

burnout0

You seem to hear it everywhere.  Youth Ministry is one of the top burn out jobs in ministry.  I don’t know about you, but when I heard that early in my ministry I thought burnout was this explosion that happened and you up and quit.  Things would be going just okay and one day, BAM!, you’d be done.  But the longer I’ve been in ministry, the more I realize just how gradual a process burnout can truly be.

The sad part about burnout in ministry is that it starts on your first day of ministry.  All ministers are slowly ‘burning out’ constantly.  This is why I don’t like the term burnout.   A slow burnout process makes me think of a candle; the problem with that is it’s hard to add to a candle, so when it’s gone it’s gone.  I prefer to think of it as being ‘dipped out’…

View original post 585 more words

3 thoughts on “What is burnout?

  1. Pingback: God Gave Me a Break (Another look at burnout) | pursuingHISwill

I'd love to hear from you.

