Considering the Possibility: I May Never Get Married

Great post; because we’ve all wondered. I think one thing to think about is that your desires or hopes or prayers don’t only come from you. One thing I prayed about when I faced this same question is that God would align the desires of my heart with what he wanted for me. That if it was not in his will for me to get married, that I would let those desires go. Everything in our life is given purpose by God. And sometimes that purpose has nothing to do with us and everything to do with others. One positive result of your hopes and prayers is this blog and the many women who have been able to relate to you and your struggles and your honesty. I was reading the other comments and wholeheartedly agree that we should live our lives to the fullest regardless of whether we’re single, in a relationship, married, divorced, etc. But that doesn’t mean the desires of our heart have to be ignored; they should be prayed about and given to God. Listen for what he tells you about them or through them. Look for how he uses those hopes and prayers in your life and in the lives of others.

I Kissed My Date Goodnight

It’s good to have goals. It’s healthy to plan and work toward accomplishing things you want in life.

But what if the goal is something hoped for, yet not promised?

110263I’m talking, of course, about marriage. As a little girl, a teenager, a young adult, marriage was a given. There was never an if, but rather a whenwhen I get married, when I have kids.

Now older, I see a bigger picture with more possibilities. And one of those possibilities is that I will never get married. It’s hard to swallow, but if I’m being a realist, I have to consider it. My parents refuse to believe it. Apparently if I pray hard enough or expand my horizons or agree to date someone I’m not interested in, love will blossom.

It just hasn’t happened yet.

I cannot count on both hands and both feet the number of…

View original post 382 more words

I'd love to hear from you.

